Homemade Garlic and Lemon Hummus

hummus
hummus

Hummus is one of my all-time favorite snacks to munch on. Whether it’s with veggies or warm pita chips, hummus is just amazing.  I had a few of my girlfriends over the other night and decided I would make a homemade garlic and lemon hummus to serve as an appetizer with warm, toasted pita bread.  It so super simple to make!

Things have been so crazy lately with the holidays kicking into full gear. I went home to see my family in Louisiana this past Thanksgiving and haven’t stopped ever since I’ve been back in Austin.  Yesterday I put up my miniature Christmas tree and the rest of my holiday decor around the apartment. It definitely feels like Christmas in here!

A large part of the holidays revolves around food- wouldn’t you agree?  This is the perfect recipe to bring or serve at a holiday party.  Who doesn’t love a classic, homemade hummus?  For this recipe you will need:

1 can chickpeas or garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
2 cloves garlic, pasted
1/4 c tahini paste
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 c olive oil, or more depending on consistency
1 tsp paprika
Sea salt and pepper

I learned that making the perfect homemade hummus depends largely on the order of what ingredients go in first and last. So, firstly, in a food processor combine the tahini paste, lemon juice and pated garlic.  Process for 2 minutes then stir and process for an additional 2 minutes.

Then, add half of the chickpea mixture and process until smooth. Add the remaining half of the chickpeas and process for another 2-3 minutes.  Depending on what kind of food processor you have, you can either slowly pour the olive oil into the processor while it is running, or add it in increments while stopping and turning it back on. I have a mini processor, so I had to stop it each time I wanted to add more olive oil. The olive oil should be eye-balled because you want the hummus at the right consistency- not too thick and definitely not too thin and soupy.

Lastly, season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with paprika before serving. I toasted pita bread and cut them into small triangles to serve with it. I received a lot of compliments on my hummus and it was a cinch! I hope you love it too!

Leave a Reply

